
Ice caves and glaciers in Iceland: which tour, which month, what light
Katla, Vatnajökull and Langjökull caves, glacier walks and snowmobiles priced on 1 November 2026, with a grid of which Katla departures come back before sunset, Nov–Mar.
For a natural ice cave, go between October and March with a guide. Vatnajökull's caves run from Jökulsárlón in that window only. The Katla cave from Vík runs all year, and Langjökull's tunnel is man-made and open whatever the season. Glacier walks on Sólheimajökull and in Skaftafell run all year too. A snowmobile on Langjökull leaves from Gullfoss. Prices on 1 November 2026 run from about 24,000 to 30,000 ISK for a cave and from USD 120 or EUR 118 for a glacier walk. In midwinter the limit is light, not money. In December only the 10:30 and 12:30 Katla departures run mostly in daylight, with sunrise at 10:53 and sunset at 15:29 at Vík. Check the departure against the light when you book.
The tours, read 1 November 2026
| Tour | From | Adult price | Duration | Season as stated | Minimum age |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Katla ice cave (Katlatrack Fast Track) | Vík, Austurvegur 16 | 29,900 ISK | 2.5–3 h, 45–60 min at the cave | year-round | 6 |
| Vatnajökull ice cave (Local Guide) | Jökulsárlón car park | 23,900 ISK | 2.5–4 h | October to 31 March | 10 |
| Into the Glacier, Langjökull | Húsafell or Klaki base camp | from 24,900 ISK | 3–4 h, about 1 h inside | tunnel year-round; Klaki road 1 Jun–15 Oct | not read |
| Snowmobile, Langjökull (Mountaineers) | Gullfoss | from 33,500 ISK | 4 h | not stated | not read |
| Snowmobile and ice cave (Mountaineers) | Gullfoss | from 37,400 ISK | 4 h | not stated | not read |
| Sólheimajökull glacier walk (Troll) | Sólheimajökull car park | from USD 120 | 4 h | all year | not read |
| Skaftafell glacier walk (Icelandic Mountain Guides) | Skaftafell | from EUR 118 | 3 h, 1.5–2 h on the ice | all year | not read |
| Perlan indoor ice cave | Reykjavík | 7,090 ISK (Wonders of Iceland) | not stated | daily 09:00–21:00 | under-5s free |
Operators' own pages: katlatrack.is, localguide.is, intotheglacier.is, mountaineers.is, troll.is, mountainguides.is and perlan.is, all read 1 November 2026. For each cave's minutes in the ice and its price per minute, see the cave-by-cave post.
The daylight grid
Katlatrack's Fast Track leaves Vík at 09:00, 10:30, 12:30, 14:30 and 16:00, and takes up to three hours. Sunrise and sunset are for Vík (63.42° N, 19.01° W), NOAA solar equations, computed. "In light" means the tour leaves after sunrise and is back before sunset.
| 15th of | Sunrise–sunset at Vík | 09:00 | 10:30 | 12:30 | 14:30 | 16:00 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| November 2026 | 09:39–16:22 (6 h 44) | leaves in the dark | in light | in light | back after dark | leaves 22 min before sunset |
| December 2026 | 10:53–15:29 (4 h 36) | leaves in the dark | leaves 23 min before sunrise | back 1 min after sunset | back after dark | in the dark |
| January 2027 | 10:35–16:15 (5 h 40) | leaves in the dark | at sunrise | in light | back after dark | in the dark |
| February 2027 | 09:08–17:52 (8 h 44) | at sunrise | in light | in light | in light | back after dark |
| March 2027 | 07:34–19:16 (11 h 41) | in light | in light | in light | in light | in light |
The cave is dark inside whatever the hour, so this is about the super-jeep track and the walk on the ice, about a kilometre, which are easier to see in daylight. In December the Katla tour fits only between 10:30 and about 15:30. That is the same window the 7-day ledger's first day needs for Seljalandsfoss, Skógafoss and Reynisfjara. A December traveller who wants both should sleep in Vík and take the cave on the morning of Day 2, then drive the 200 minutes to Höfn largely after dark, dropping that day's stops.
At Jökulsárlón the light is 20 minutes shorter: 4 h 16 min on 15 December, 10:52 to 15:08. Local Guide's page gives no departure times in its text, so check them against those hours.
Glacier walks
A glacier walk is a different day from a cave: three to four hours on the ice, with crampons and an axe, in daylight. Sólheimajökull is 25 minutes from Vík. Veðurstofa Íslands issued a notice on 9 June 2026 of increased hazard from changing conditions at the glacier's margin, and Safetravel keeps a Sólheimajökull safety page; read both before you go. Skaftafell's walks leave from the visitor centre on Day 2 of the 7-day and 10-day ledgers. The South Coast ledger makes one of its Day 4 stops at the glacier walks. Both cost the day three to four hours. The Vatnajökull park fee, 1,110 ISK a car, applies at Skaftafell.
Snow and the inland ice
Langjökull is reached from two directions. From Húsafell in the west, Into the Glacier runs its tunnel tour all year. The road to its Klaki base camp is open only from 1 June to 15 October, weather permitting, so winter tours start at Húsafell. From Gullfoss in the east, Mountaineers of Iceland run four-hour snowmobile tours and a snowmobile-and-ice-cave version. Gullfoss is on the South Coast and Golden Circle ledger's Day 2, which turns a Golden Circle day into a seven-to-eight-hour one.
Questions
When is ice cave season in Iceland?
Natural caves under Vatnajökull: October to 31 March on Local Guide's page, sometimes into April. Katla's cave is sold year-round, though it changes shape from season to season and is sometimes closed. Langjökull's tunnel is man-made and runs all year. Perlan's is indoors in Reykjavík.
Can I visit an ice cave without a guide?
No. Glacier caves move, collapse and flood, and every tour listed here is guided with helmets and crampons. Safetravel.is publishes glacier safety guidance and crevasse maps for anyone tempted to go alone.
Which ice cave is best for families?
Katla takes children from 6; Vatnajökull's caves through Local Guide take them from 10. For younger children, Reykjavík has two indoor options: Volcano Express in Harpa takes ages 4 and up for 15–45 minutes of real eruption footage at 2,990 ISK a child, and Perlan's indoor ice cave is free for children four and under and needs no boots.
Sources
- Katlatrack, Fast Track ice cave tour (departures, duration, minimum age), read 1 November 2026: https://katlatrack.is/all-tours/ice-cave-tours/katla-fast-track-ice-cave-tour/
- Local Guide of Vatnajökull, ice cave tour, read 1 November 2026: https://localguide.is/ice-cave-tour/
- Into the Glacier, FAQ, read 1 November 2026: https://intotheglacier.is/faq/
- Mountaineers of Iceland, tours from Gullfoss, read 1 November 2026: https://www.mountaineers.is/
- Troll Expeditions, Sólheimajökull hike, read 1 November 2026: https://troll.is/tour/solheimajokull-4-hour-glacier-hike
- Icelandic Mountain Guides, Blue Ice glacier walk, read 1 November 2026: https://www.mountainguides.is/tour/blue-ice-glacier-walk
- Perlan, home and visit pages and booking calendar, read 1 November 2026: https://perlan.is/ , https://perlan.is/visit and https://perlan.is/buy-tickets
- Veðurstofa Íslands, news, "Increased hazard due to changing conditions at the margin of Sólheimajökull glacier", 9 June 2026: https://en.vedur.is/about-imo/news/
- Vatnajökull National Park, price list, read 1 November 2026: https://www.vatnajokulsthjodgardur.is/en/pricelist
- NOAA solar calculator equations, Vík and Jökulsárlón, computed 1 November 2026: https://gml.noaa.gov/grad/solcalc/calcdetails.html
The ledgers this post refers to
- Iceland Ring Road in 7 days
Anticlockwise from Keflavík: about 1,555 km and 19.5 hours at the wheel in seven days, with nights in Vík, Höfn, Egilsstaðir, Mývatn, Akureyri and Borgarnes.
7 days · Iceland1,555 km · 19 h 35 drivingChecked 1 Nov 2026 - Iceland Ring Road in 10 days with Snæfellsnes
The 7-day loop plus Snæfellsnes, a second east night and the full Diamond Circle: about 2,160 km and 27.5 hours of driving, with a half-day kept for weather.
10 days · Iceland2,160 km · 27 h 40 drivingChecked 1 Nov 2026 - Iceland South Coast and Golden Circle in 5 days
Reykjavík base, a Golden Circle day, then two south-coast days to Jökulsárlón with nights in Vík and Kirkjubæjarklaustur: about 1,125 km and 14 hours of driving.
5 days · Iceland1,125 km · 14 h 10 drivingChecked 1 Nov 2026
