supjourney
Ice caves 2026–27, cave by cave: price, departure, season, minutes

Ice caves 2026–27, cave by cave: price, departure, season, minutes

Katla from Vík, Vatnajökull from Jökulsárlón, Langjökull from Húsafell and Perlan's 100 m indoor cave, as the operators' pages stated them on 1 November 2026.

Four ways to stand inside ice this winter, and only two operators say how long you stand there. Katla from Vík: 29,900 ISK, 2.5 to 3 hours, 45 to 60 minutes at the cave, all year. Langjökull's tunnel from Húsafell: from 24,900 ISK, 3 to 4 hours, about an hour inside. The Vatnajökull caves from Jökulsárlón: 23,900 ISK and up, 2.5 to 4 hours, October to the end of March, minutes inside not stated. Perlan's indoor cave in Reykjavík: 100 metres, open 09:00–21:00, price only inside a booking app that would not render. Everything below was read on the operators' pages on 1 November 2026.

The table

CaveDeparture pointAdult priceTour minutesMinutes in the iceSeason as statedMinutes in ice per 1,000 ISK
Katla (Kötlujökull)Vík, Austurvegur 1629,900150–18045–60 at the cave areayear-round, five departures a day1.5–2.0
Vatnajökull, Local GuideJökulsárlón, main bus car park23,900 ("from 16,900" also shown)150–240not statedOctober to 31 March, sometimes into April—
Vatnajökull, Arctic AdventuresJökulsárlón, east side of the car parkUSD 168 list (ISK not shown)120–180not stated; 20–30 min walk to and around the glacierOctober to April—
Langjökull, Into the GlacierHúsafell Center or Klaki base campfrom 24,900180–240about 60road to Klaki open 1 June–15 October; tunnel "year-round"2.4
PerlanReykjavík, Öskjuhlíðnot readablenot statednot stated; cave 100 mexhibitions 09:00–21:00 daily—

Katla, from Vík

Katlatrack's Fast Track page, read 1 November 2026: departures at 09:00, 10:30, 12:30, 14:30 and 16:00 from Austurvegur 16 in Vík; 2.5 to 3 hours in all, 45 to 60 minutes in the ice cave area after a super-jeep drive of 45 to 60 minutes each way and about a kilometre on foot; crampons, helmet and headlamp supplied; minimum age 6; year-round. The price is on the operator's tour listing, 29,900 ISK a person. Minutes in the ice are 25 to 40 per cent of the tour, and because the meeting point is in the ledgers' sleep town it costs a Vík-based day nothing in detour; the site's experience page puts it at 210 minutes out of the day.

Vatnajökull, from Jökulsárlón

Local Guide of Vatnajökull, read 1 November 2026: Ice Cave Tour 23,900 ISK, 2.5 to 4 hours depending on conditions ("normally approximately 3 to 4 hours" in its FAQ), minimum age 10, meet at the main bus car park at Jökulsárlón 15 minutes before departure; the season "usually runs from October to 31 March, sometimes earlier or into April". A "Price from 16,900 ISK" line appears at the top of the same page without explanation; treat 23,900 as the price until the booking step says otherwise. Its Blue Ice Discovery is 24,900 for 4 hours and Ice Cave Discovery 34,900 for 5 to 7 hours. None of the pages says how long you are inside the cave.

Arctic Adventures' Crystal Ice Cave page shows USD only, 168 list, 2 to 3 hours, October to April, meeting on the east side of the lagoon car park; its FAQ puts the walk to, in and around the glacier at "up to approximately 20 to 30 minutes". Glacier Adventure, which starts at Hali 12 km east of the lagoon, lists "Ice cave tour" as a category but its tour pages rendered "Nothing was found" on two reads today.

The Jökulsárlón departure adds no kilometres to the Vík–Höfn day on the seven-day, ten-day and ferry ledgers, which already stop there, but it takes three to four hours out of a 200-minute driving day; the park's 1,110 ISK fee applies to the car park.

Langjökull, from Húsafell

Into the Glacier's Classic page, read 1 November 2026: "price from 24,900" ISK with no adult and child split printed, 3 to 4 hours, "around 4 hours from Húsafell", about an hour's guided walk inside the tunnel, departing from Húsafell Center or the Klaki base camp. The FAQ says the Húsafell–Klaki road is open 1 June to 15 October, weather permitting, with separate winter driving guidance for 16 October to 31 May, so the departure moves to Húsafell in winter. Húsafell is on no ledger here; the Reykjavík day-tour version is 38,990 for 11 hours.

Perlan, in Reykjavík

If the Reykjavík day is a storm day and the theme can be fire instead of ice, Volcano Express in Harpa needs no bus at all: real 2021–2024 Reykjanes eruption footage, a walk-in show every 15 minutes, 3,990 ISK an adult and 15–45 minutes from start to finish (volcanoexpress.is, read 1 November 2026). Perlan's exhibition page, read 1 November 2026, says the cave is 100 metres long and built from more than 350 tonnes of snow. The visit page gives exhibition hours of 09:00 to 21:00 daily and free entry for children of four and under. Prices load only in the booking app on perlan.is/buy-tickets, which returned no figures on two reads. Check on perlan.is. It needs no car, no season and no boots, and it is the one whose price could not be read.

What the ratio says

Where both figures exist, Langjökull gives 2.4 minutes in the ice per 1,000 ISK and Katla 1.5 to 2.0; the Vatnajökull operators leave the minutes inside to the conditions. Ask at booking. The figure that matters more on a ledger is the whole tour: 2.5 to 4 hours out of a driving day in every case except Perlan.

Sources

The ledgers this post refers to

  1. Iceland Ring Road in 7 days

    Anticlockwise from Keflavík: about 1,555 km and 19.5 hours at the wheel in seven days, with nights in Vík, Höfn, Egilsstaðir, Mývatn, Akureyri and Borgarnes.

    7 days · Iceland
    1,555 km · 19 h 35 driving
    Checked 1 Nov 2026
  2. Iceland Ring Road in 10 days with Snæfellsnes

    The 7-day loop plus Snæfellsnes, a second east night and the full Diamond Circle: about 2,160 km and 27.5 hours of driving, with a half-day kept for weather.

    10 days · Iceland
    2,160 km · 27 h 40 driving
    Checked 1 Nov 2026
  3. Iceland South Coast and Golden Circle in 5 days

    Reykjavík base, a Golden Circle day, then two south-coast days to Jökulsárlón with nights in Vík and Kirkjubæjarklaustur: about 1,125 km and 14 hours of driving.

    5 days · Iceland
    1,125 km · 14 h 10 driving
    Checked 1 Nov 2026
  4. Iceland and the Faroe Islands by ferry, 12 days

    Copenhagen to Hirtshals, two nights on the Norröna, three days of Faroese roads, then Seyðisfjörður to Keflavík by north and south: 2,519 km, 36 h driving, 47 h at sea.

    12 days · Iceland + Faroe Islands + Denmark
    2,519 km · 36 h 05 driving · 47 h 30 ferry
    Checked 1 Nov 2026