
Iceland's four ferries: fares, crossings and the ledger each touches
Herjólfur, Baldur, Sæfari and Sævar on 1 November 2026: 2,700 ISK to Vestmannaeyjar, 6,300 across Breiðafjörður, two fare pages that are widgets, and where each fits.
Two of Iceland's four passenger ferries published a fare in plain text on 1 November 2026 and two did not. Herjólfur to Vestmannaeyjar is 2,700 ISK an adult each way and 4,050 for a car under five metres, on the 2026 list; Baldur across Breiðafjörður is 6,300 an adult and 6,300 for the car, on the winter list that runs to 31 May 2027. Sæfari to Grímsey and Sævar to Hrísey are run by Vegagerðin, and their pages show the fare only inside a booking widget that did not render as text, so this site has no figure for either and says so. Crossing times: Herjólfur about 35 minutes from Landeyjahöfn and 2 h 45 min from Þorlákshöfn, Baldur about 2 h 10 min, Sæfari about 3 hours, Sævar not stated on any operator page read. The road to each harbour is OSRM, computed on the day.
The table
| Ferry | Route | Fare, read 1 Nov 2026 | Crossing | Pattern | Road from the ledger | Ledger |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Herjólfur (Herjólfur ohf) | Landeyjahöfn – Vestmannaeyjar; Þorlákshöfn when the harbour silts | Adult 2,700; 12–15 1,350; under 12 free; car under 5 m 4,050; over 5 m 5,400; bicycle 420 (2026 list) | about 35 min; 2 h 45 min from Þorlákshöfn | 7 a day each way, 07:00–23:15, every 75 min | Hvolsvöllur → Landeyjahöfn 27.9 km, 36 min | 7-day Day 1; 5-day Day 3 |
| Baldur (Ferjuleiðir) | Stykkishólmur – Flatey – Brjánslækur | Adult 6,300; 0–12 free with parents; car under 5 m 6,300; wide car 9,180; +2,500 per extra metre (winter list to 31 May 2027) | about 2 h 10 min | daily, year-round; in dry dock until late November 2026 | on the ledger | Westfjords Day 1 |
| Sæfari (Vegagerðin) | Dalvík – Grímsey | not in the page text; booking widget only | about 3 h | Mon/Wed/Thu/Fri, plus Sun 1 Jun–31 Aug; Mon/Wed/Fri 1 Oct–14 Jan; Dalvík 09:00 | Akureyri → Dalvík 43.7 km, 42 min | North Day 4 (spare day) |
| Sævar (Vegagerðin) | Árskógssandur – Hrísey | not in the page text; booking widget only | not stated | year-round; arrive 15 min before | Akureyri → Árskógssandur 33.9 km, 34 min | North Day 4; 7-day Day 6 |
Herjólfur and the south-coast ledgers
Landeyjahöfn is 28 km south of Hvolsvöllur on Route 254, 36 minutes from the Ring Road, and the ship runs every 75 minutes from 07:00 to 23:15. Two adults without a car, over and back, is 10,800 ISK; with the car 18,900. On the 7-day ledger it has nowhere to go: Day 1 already carries three stops, and a Heimaey afternoon pushes the Vík arrival past dark in any month but June. On the 5-day ledger it fits as an extra night between Day 3 and Day 4 with the car left at Landeyjahöfn — except that the operator's front-page notice on 1 November 2026 warns of silting "at this time of year" and advises against leaving a vehicle at either harbour, because a sailing moved to Þorlákshöfn lands you 130 km from your car. In the silting season the honest version takes the car across. The crossing times are from the operator's timeline page, stated there for the previous ship; the current Herjólfur IV, in service since July 2019, keeps a 75-minute cycle consistent with them.
Baldur and the Westfjords ledger
Baldur is a row in the Westfjords ledger and its fare the one fare that ledger carries: two adults and a car one way is 18,900 ISK on the winter list; the summer list, which the price page did not show on 1 November 2026, is the one a June traveller will pay. The ship was in dry dock in Hafnarfjörður until late November 2026 at the time of reading, with Flatey served by a passenger boat; the earlier post on this site has the dates.
Sæfari, Sævar and the north ledger
The north ledger has a spare day, Day 4, and both Eyjafjörður ferries sail from within 45 minutes of Akureyri. Grímsey is the bigger ask: Sæfari leaves Dalvík at 09:00 on its sailing days and takes about three hours each way (Akureyri's Grímsey page, updated 13 February 2026, which also carries the seasonal pattern), so the Arctic Circle is a whole day with the return set by the ship and the fare whatever the widget says. Hrísey is the small ask: a short crossing from Árskógssandur (no operator figure for its length was found, and the tourist boards' is not quoted) to an island with no cars to speak of, a half-day from the Akureyri night on Day 4 of the north ledger. The 7-day loop's Day 6 passes the junction with 325 km already in it, so the north ledger is where it belongs.
For the record: ferjur.is, which hrisey.is names for Sævar's timetable and prices, returned a page title and nothing else on 1 November 2026 for both state ferries; Vegagerðin's own pages gave the routes, check-in rules and cancellation terms (a 500 ISK fee, none within 24 hours) and rendered the fares as an empty booking block. When that changes this table will have four prices in it.
Sources
- Herjólfur, 2026 price list ("Almenn verðskrá Herjólfs 2026"), read 1 November 2026: https://herjolfur.is/verdskra
- Herjólfur, timetable and Þorlákshöfn departures, read 1 November 2026: https://herjolfur.is/aaetlun
- Herjólfur, history page with crossing times and the 2019 ship, read 1 November 2026: https://herjolfur.is/en/timeline
- Ferjuleiðir, Baldur price list (winter 1 September 2026–31 May 2027), read 1 November 2026: https://www.ferja.is/en/our-ferries/baldur/price-list
- Ferjuleiðir, Baldur route and crossing time, read 1 November 2026: https://www.ferja.is/en/our-ferries/baldur
- Vegagerðin, Sæfari – Grímsey (booking, check-in, cancellation; no fare in page text), read 1 November 2026: https://www.vegagerdin.is/en/the-transportation-system/public-transport/ferries/saefari-grimsey
- Vegagerðin, Sævar – Hrísey (same), read 1 November 2026: https://www.vegagerdin.is/en/the-transportation-system/public-transport/ferries/saevar-hrisey
- Akureyri municipality, Grímsey ferry page (sailing days, 3 hours, Dalvík 09:00), updated 13 February 2026: https://akureyri.is/grimsey-en/ferry
- OSRM over OpenStreetMap, harbour legs computed 1 November 2026: https://project-osrm.org/
The ledgers this post refers to
- Iceland Ring Road in 7 days
Anticlockwise from Keflavík: about 1,555 km and 19.5 hours at the wheel in seven days, with nights in Vík, Höfn, Egilsstaðir, Mývatn, Akureyri and Borgarnes.
7 days · Iceland1,555 km · 19 h 35 drivingChecked 1 Nov 2026 - Iceland South Coast and Golden Circle in 5 days
Reykjavík base, a Golden Circle day, then two south-coast days to Jökulsárlón with nights in Vík and Kirkjubæjarklaustur: about 1,125 km and 14 hours of driving.
5 days · Iceland1,125 km · 14 h 10 drivingChecked 1 Nov 2026 - Iceland Westfjords loop in 6 days
Reykjavík to Stykkishólmur, the Baldur ferry to Brjánslækur, Látrabjarg, Dynjandi, Ísafjörður and home by Hólmavík: about 1,020 km, 14.5 hours and one crossing.
6 days · Iceland1,020 km · 14 h 35 driving · 2 h 10 ferryChecked 1 Nov 2026 - North Iceland and the Diamond Circle in 5 days
Fly to Akureyri, drive Goðafoss, Mývatn, Dettifoss, Ásbyrgi and Húsavík and fly back: about 360 km and 5 hours of driving, with the 380 km road alternative costed.
5 days · Iceland357 km · 5 h drivingChecked 1 Nov 2026
